So, last night, I was making dinner for me and the mister when I realized … what’s the most basic, family-friendly, homey dinner you can possibly make?  Spaghetti.  And what is the one dish that HAVEN’T I posted on my bloggy blog?  Spaghetti.  I mean, how lame is that?  Talk about missing the forest for the trees!

Plus, the fun thing about spaghetti sauces is that no two homes are the same.  Much like chilli or curry or any other stew-y kind of dish, everyone has their own take on it.  Heck, I’d lay money that my sister and I each have such divergent ways of making spaghetti, you wouldn’t realize that we’re from the same family.

Then, there is the great carrot atrocity.  Hang on to your seats people, the following scenes contain content which may be disturbing to certain audiences.  Here in the UK, they add carrots to their bolognese sauce.  Carrots!  I ask you!!  I mean, what kind of self-respecting person does that to their spaghetti sauce??!!  Not I.  But, one thing that everyone will agree on is that a traditional sauce starts with pancetta and usually involves a blend of ground beef and pork.  However, since I do try to make things a little healthier so that my husband doesn’t accuse me of trying to kill him with cholesterol, I make mine with ground turkey thighs … thus the “fauxlonese.”

This dish makes 4-5 good sized portions and tastes best if you let it simmer for at least an hour.

Spaghetti Fauxlonese

  • good couple of glugs of olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 large onion, trimmed, peeled, and cut into a small dice
  • 1 red bell pepper, cored, seeded and cut into a small dice
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 Tbsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 cup tomato paste
  • 1 wine glass of red wine (Chianti or Montepulciano)
  • 2 cans of chopped tomatoes

In a wide, pot over medium heat, pour in the olive oil and add the red pepper flakes.  When the oil is hot and the chili flavor has been swirled into the oil, add the onions and red bell pepper and cook until soft, about five minutes or so.  Add the garlic and cook another minute.  Add the ground turkey and season with salt and pepper as well as oregano, then chop up and mix thoroughly with the onion mixture to thoroughly flavor the meat.  When the meat has cooked through, add the tomato paste and mix into the meat before adding the red wine and cooking for another minute or so until thick.  Add the tomatoes and bring to a rapid simmer before lowering the heat to a light simmer and cooking, partially covered, for an hour.

Serve with cooked spaghetti, linguini or even tagliatelle noodles and big honkin’ pieces of garlic bread.

SpagFaux

