Happy new year!! Yes, I am one of those people who LOVES New Year’s Eve. Not so much the idea of getting gussied up and going out (gah! drunken crowds – nothankyew) … but I love the idea of a day of looking back on the year that was and looking forward on the 365 days to come, of appreciating the blessings you’ve had and of setting goals.

So tonight, the mister and I are camping out and having a quiet evening with the Wondermutt.  The menu is one of our favorites – nibbles!!  A bottle of prosecco will accompay figs and gorgonzola wrapped in Parma ham (for me), sausage rolls (for the mister), mini pork pies with chutney and salmon paté on crackers.  I guess this comes from how we used to do New Year’s Eve when I was a kid – mom would make oven egg rolls and other snack-y stuff and the nibbling would begin around 9 and continue past midnight.

As an adult I now understand that it was because my mom was worn out from cooking throughout the Christmas holidays and just wanted something easy for New Year’s Eve.  The, I just thought it was the height of sophistication that we dined on nibbles rather than a roast dinner.

At any rate, whether it’s a New Years Eve party or just a spread for Sunday bagels, this is an easy paté to throw together and look like you’re serving something elegant enough for royalty.

Smoked Salmon Paté

  • 1/2 lb smoked salmon
  • 2 heaping Tbsp creamed cheese
  • 2 heaping Tbsp sour cream
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 2 tsp horseradish
  • 2 tsp chopped dill
  • healthy grating pepper to taste

If you have a food processor, mix everything together and puree until mostly smooth, but with a few lumps of salmon.  I don’t have a processor, so I just take a knife and mince the salmon as small as possible, then mix thoroughly with the remaining ingredients.  Serve on crackers with a sprig of dill … or as a spread on a toasted bagel.

Wishing you all a very happy 2012, full of love, laughter and all good things.

