Hi!!  Remember me?  I know, I’ve been a bit unavailable lately – work has had me going long hours and the weekends have been full of life maintenance and other claims on my time.  The result?  While I’ve been able to do a little cooking on the weekends, I haven’t had any time to sit and WRITE about it.

I think it’s time I won the lottery, if for no other reason than I’d have time to do the stuff I really like to do.  Who’s with me?!

So, Sundays have become a cooking marathon as I make the dishes for the week.  Then, for our Sunday night dinner, the mister and I usually do something simple like a baked potato and some salad.  Now that the weather is colder and it’s dark at 4:30  (4:30!!  this time of year just kills me), I’ve also been adding a little soup to the mix.  A nice hot mug of soup just seems to round out a wintery dinner.

This last week, I needed a carrot for some slaw I threw together and dropped by the farm stand at the Hammersmith market and there they were – a gorgeous bag of fat orange carrots fresh from a local farm.  So, it made me think that I needed to do something a little different with them this weekend.  AND, I thought I’d post a recipe for one of my closest friends who is a vegetarian that hates tomatoes – this is a totally easy, yummy dish that doesn’t have a single tomato anywhere near it.

Moroccan Roasted Carrot Soup

  • 1 lb carrots (plus one or two extra) – trimmed, peeled and halved lengthwise
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • good drizzle chilli oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 large onion, trimmed, peeled and diced
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • pinch ground allspice
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced or microplaned
  • 2 1/2 cups vegetable or chicken broth
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt or creme fraiche

Preheat oven to 400 F, and toss carrots with chilli oil and honey, then season with salt and pepper and roast for 20-30 minutes until fork-tender.  While the carrots are roasting, heat some of the chilli oil in a medium pot and add the onions, cumin, coriander and allspice and cook until onions are translucent.  When the carrots are done, roughly chop them and add them and the garlic to the onions and spice mixture, heating for a moment or two.  Add the broth and bring to a boil before reducing to a simmer.  Cook for 15 minutes then use a blender (or stick blender) to puree until smooth then taste for seasoning.  Just before serving, add the lemon juice and yogurt and stir in well. 

