My husband came thisclose to death last night.  The good thing was that he realized it at the last minute and averted disaster.

You see, I’m doing an experiment this week.  As folks who have hung out around here for a while know, I started a new job back in the beginning of the year.  It’s a fantastic gig with a great company and I’m incredibly happy there – but the commute is a killer and I don’t get home until late, wreaking havoc on dinner time – and, even worse, cooking time, which I love.  So, during the last nine months, I’ve tried crock pot cooking (good for stews and pork shoulder, but not built for everyday – particularly in the summer), making quicker 20-minute meals (which still means that we wind up eating around 8:45), and alternating cooking nights with the mister (he makes killer spag bol and curries, but I really can’t face spag bol and curry every week).

So, this week, I decided to try cooking an entire week’s worth of dinners on Sunday so that all we have to do is knock it together and nuke it when I get home.  Sorta like microwavable dinners, but healthier and with a much better selection.  AND I get to cook and try out new dishes, which is what I live for. Last week, I went through the recipes I’ve been saving, picked the dishes, shopped accordingly and then spent a few hours getting everything cooked, cooled and packaged so that we’d be ready to go during the week.

What does this have to do with the mister and how was he so close to death?  Because last night, when we both got home after a long and emotionally draining day and I asked him what he wanted for dinner, he said, “Oh, you can just make me a sandwich.”

What he had instead was this – Moroccan Turkey Meatballs – served with couscous, the working family’s life-saver.  Don’t just add water when you cook it – throw in raisins, some Ras al Hanout, a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and a squeeze of an orange for something that’s more flavorsome.

Moroccan Turkey Meatballs

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 2 tsp each:  chilli powder (medium if you want a little heat, mild if you don’t), ground cumin, ground coriander
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 medium onion, grated or food-processed
  • 1 clove garlic, microplaned
  • pinch salt and pepper
  • zest of one orange
  • drizzle olive oil

In a large bowl, mix together all the ingredients EXCEPT for the olive oil, mooshing them together until thoroughly combined, then let sit for at least 20 minutes so that the meat will take on the flavor.  Heat a large, non-stick pan over medium-high heat and drizzle some olive oil in it, coating the bottom.  Form the turkey mixture into balls the size of a ping-pong and brown on all sides.  Once they’re browned, if they still feel a little soft when you touch them, reduce the heat to low and cover the pan for about 5 minutes to finish cooking.  Serve with couscous, tzatszki and hummus.

