I am in the middle of enjoying an almost perfectly lazy Saturday.  I say almost because I’m looking across the room at a certain Wondermutt who likes to wake me at 7:00 Saturday morning, so no long lie-ins for me.  Plus, I’ve spent the better part of the morning working on a project for work — however, since I was in my jammies, it still felt a bit lazy.

So, now, the Wondermutt is napping on one sofa, I’ve got my feet up and am slouched with my laptop on the other, Coronation Street is on the TV and I have a gorgeous, cold lemon soda next to me.  Life is grand.  So, on lazy days like this, it’s nice to have something better than workday sandwiches for lunch but nothing that requires heavy lifting or a whole lot of cooking.

Lazy Saturday Pasta

  • 3 cups uncooked pasta – I like orecchiette or fusilli
  • 1 can tuna in olive oil
  • 1 jar marinated artichoke hearts, chopped
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp capers, rinsed
  • small bunch basil and flat-leaf parsley
  • juice of 2 lemons, zest of 1
  • 2 tsp grain mustard
  • 3 anchovies
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • good grinding of pepper

Boil the pasta in well-salted water until cooked al dente.  As it’s cooking, mix the herbs, capers, lemon juice, mustard, garlic and anchovies in a blender until smooth.  Drain the pasta and toss with flaked tuna, chopped artichokes and sauce.  Taste for seasoning and add a grinding of pepper (with the anchovies and capers, you probably won’t need to add salt).  Serve warm.

