Okay, I’m going a bit buckle mad.  Buckle happy.  Buckle silly.  Buckle bonkers.  I’ll probably get this way with crumbles in a few weeks when the apples are in season, so prepare yourself.

British cherries are in the farmers markets now and I’m buying them by the punnet-load!  Last weekend, I made my own version of Ben and Jerry’s Cherry Garcia ice cream – YUM.  I’ve also canned some cherry and plum jam – which, unfortunately didn’t set quite as firmly as I would have liked, so I’m going to give it away at Christmas as cherry and plum sauce to spoon over desserts (family, you have been warned).

At any rate, until I have an orchard of my own (with cherries and plums and maybe an apple tree), I’ll continue to hit my local farm shop.  If you have a good one near you, I recommend you do the same – there’s nothing like getting something that has only just been picked recently, that hasn’t been flown in from Peru and that actually supports your local farmers.  The food tastes better and you are making a difference to your local small business!  It doesn’t get any better than that.

Cherry and Almond Buckle

Cake

  • 4 1/2 oz butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup self-rising flour
  • 3/4 cup ground almonds
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 3/4 lb cherries, stemmed and pitted

Topping

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup ground almonds
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 oz butter, cut into pieces

Preheat the oven to 350 F and prepare an 8″ springform pan by buttering it and lining with parchment paper.  Then, make the topping by tossing the flour, ground almonds and sugar together, and rubbing in the butter until it’s crumbly.  Set it aside while you make the cake.

In the bowl of standing mixer, cream the butter with the sugar until it’s fluffy, then add the eggs one at a time.  Add the ground almonds and extract, then remove from the mixer to stir in the flour until it just disappears.  Immediately pour into the prepared pan and top with the cherries, pressing down lightly into the batter.  Then layer on the topping and pop into the oven for 45-50 minutes, until a tester comes out clean.  Let it cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then remove and let finish cooling on a wire rack.

