One of the reasons I love the French Fridays project is because it makes me try recipes that I’d otherwise look at and go “ew.”  This week’s salad recipe is one of those.  I mean mozzarella and tomato, sure … but mozzarella, tomato and strawberries?  Sounds like a recipe for weirdness, at the very least.

So, fast forward to tonight’s dinner.  Today, a project that I’ve been working on for the last four weeks reached its conclusion, so I thought a celebratory dinner was in order – it seemed the perfect night to take this odd-looking recipe out for a spin.  Plus, the mister was out for a business dinner tonight – if I looked at the recipe with a jaundiced eye, he would have vetoed it out of hand.

So, I stopped on the way home to pick up the fresh mozzarella, gorgeous and firm on the outside and melt-in-your-mouth soft on the inside.  I also found some beautiful, plump and impossibly red British strawberries to add to the tomatoes and fresh basil I already had at home.  I did tinker with the recipe a bit – I can’t help it!  I had just tossed the tomatoes, strawberries and mozz into a bowl, sprinkled the basil over the top and was about to drizzle the olive oil when I thought … hrm.  What about a little heat to balance the sweet?  So, I used a chilli oil that had a mild heat to it, instead.  I think basil oil would also be lovely. if fresh basil is hard to come by.

Then, I sat down and devoured the lot of it, thinking about what a great day I had and how well the project turned out!  All-in-all, not a bad way to spend the evening!

