The mister was out of town this last week.  While I miss him when he’s traveling for work, I do love not having to worry about feeding him.  When I was single, dinner was whatever I wanted it to be – if work was a bear one day, I was perfectly happy coming home and making myself peanut butter toast.  Now, I’m older and wiser and understand the value of a diet that includes vegetables.  And, of course, when you’re cooking for someone else, you need to take into account that they may be staaaaaarving when they get home, whether you are or not.

So, this week, I enjoyed making the things that I like – like salmon!  I also grabbed a gorgeous loaf of rustic Italian bread from the bakery stall at the Hammersmith market to make today’s recipe – Pea and Mascarpone Bruschetta.  Think of it as a grown-up version of peanut-butter toast! 

This is a fantastic recipe for summer barbecue and picnic season – it’s just as nice on a crispy piece of bread as it is served as a dip with pita chips or veggies.

Pea and Mascarpone Bruschetta

  • 3 cups frozen peas (unless you grow them in your own garden, frozen peas will always taste better than “fresh” bought at the grocery)
  • 1 cup mascarpone
  • 10 mint leaves
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp chives
  • Loaf of rustic country bread, sliced
  • Clove garlic, peeled
  • Parmesan, Pecorino or Romano cheese, shaved

Cook your peas – I just pop them in a bowl with a little water, salt and pepper and zap them in the microwave for a couple of minutes, stirring halfway.  Drain the peas, then, while they’re still hot, pop the peas, mascarpone and herbs in a blender or food processor and blitz for a couple of seconds – I like to leave a little texture to it rather than puree it perfectly smooth – then taste for seasoning.  To serve, toast the bread, then rub with the clove of garlic, top with the pea puree then a little shaved cheese.  And there you have it – one of the easiest, tastiest starters around! 

