Welcome to salad week! 

As I wrote yesterday, one of the reasons for a week of salads is to make up for a week of indulgences.  Of course, as I write this, I also have a chocolate banana bread baking in the oven, but that’s a different matter.

Anyway, I thought I’d kick things off with my favorite salad – one that’s incredibly refreshing but also has a bit of a kick.  My Caribbean Chicken Salad is a great way to use leftover chicken, particularly if it’s barbecued or roasted chicken.  One of the things that I love most is that the cilantro is more than an accent, it’s actually treated like a lettuce, which adds a big, fresh, green PUNCH.

I will make one suggestion regarding the chicken – for once, this is a time when breast meat works the best.  Because it tends to be a bit dry and bland, it really picks up the dressing, making it a taste sensation!

Caribbean Chicken Salad

  • 2 cups roughly chopped cilantro
  • 2 cups roughly chopped romaine
  • 3 green onions, chopped – green part only
  • 2 cups roughly chopped cooked chicken
  • 1 red chilli pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper, cored, seeded and diced
  • 1 mango, peeled, pitted and diced
  • 2-3 Tbsp peanut oil
  • 1 Tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • Juice of 2 juicy limes
  • salt and pepper
  • (optional) – add leftover rice and / or a rinsed drained can of black beans if you want to stretch it a little further

Put everything in one big bowl and toss thoroughly, taste for seasoning and enjoy!

 

 

