Ever look at a recipe and have one of those cinematic experiences where the clouds break, the sun streams down in a beam right on your head and you hear a choir in the background singing “aaaaaa-aaaaaaaahhhhhhh”?  Sort of like the scene in Gone with the Wind when Scarlett is on her way to Tara after the burning of Atlanta and arrives there in the middle of the night, unable to see her home until the moonlight breaks through the clouds.

Wait, you haven’t?  You mean, it’s just me?  Nah.  I can’t believe I am the only person who looked at this recipe and thought, “bacon … softboiled eggs … AND asparagus!!??  NIRVANA!!”  (aaaaaa-aaaaahhhhhhh)

And, boy-howdy was it!  The only adjustment I made was to use a vegetable peeler to create ribbons of asparagus, then saute them in the same pan I used to cook the bacon.  I just drained the bacon fat, then added a little garlic oil and briefly tossed the asparagus ribbons on the heat for about a minute until soft.  Then, let cool slightly and served warm on the salad.

But, that’s not to say that the next time I make this salad, I won’t make a few more tweaks.  First, I think I’ll lightly poach the eggs rather than soft-boil so that I get to mix the runny yolk with the asparagus and the dressing.  I think I’ll also add a little shaved cheese – maybe a nice, sharp cheddar.  And, maybe serve the entire salad on top of some thinly sliced crispy toast (so that the toast soaks up all the yummy dressing).  Yep.  That’ll do nicely.

aaaaaaaa-aaaaaahhhhhhhhh!!!

This is one of those perfect “I want to treat myself” meals for days when you’re working from home or evenings when you want a dinner but don’t want to blow the doors off with a fully-cooked meal. 

