It’s been a bit of an odd week this week.  My work schedule was shifted around because of the Easter holidays (in England, you get Good Friday and Easter Monday off for a lovely four-day weekend).  The mister and I had other things going on in the evenings.  The result has been an appalling lack of kitchen time – which has also translated into a dearth of blogging.

Suffice it to say, I’ve missed you.  Hope you’ve had a good week.

Anyhow, so yesterday I had time for this week’s French Friday challenge, Mustard Batons.  Although, considering we’re talking about 3 basic ingredients, it’s not like it was heavy on actual cooking – unlike last week’s vanilla eclairs.  But, still, time in the kitchen is time in the kitchen, so it was good to get back in the saddle, even if it was for just a short ride.

All-in-all, I liked the recipe – definitely loved the concept.  But I don’t know that I’d have this for a starter or with cocktails.  I had it last night with a salad of lettuce, tomato, brie and some Parma ham and it made a lovely accompaniment.  But, they would go even better, I think, with a nice hearty winter soup – maybe split pea and ham.

I did make 2 teeeeniny changes – first, I did half Dijon and half grain mustard (mostly because I LOVE grain mustard!) and I also sprinkled a couple of small pinches of herbs du Provence just to give a bit of an earthy note.  Having eaten it with the Parma ham in my salad, I think they would also be lovely if you added some to the mustard before baking, then take them on your next picnic and enjoy with a glass of cold white wine.

YUM!

