One of the things I love most about my mister is that he is so easily pleased.  Ask him what he wants for a birthday or anniversary dinner and what does he say?  Some really complicated French dish?  No.  Something more of a treat like an expensive cut of steak?  Nope.  In the 8 years we’ve been together, he has asked for either cheeseburgers or sausage rolls for every birthday dinner I’ve cooked for him.  My dad is the same way … they say you marry what you know.

So, I try to take the things he loves and jazz them up, give him something slightly unexpected.  Saturday night, I decided to take the burger idea and combine it with his other favorite thing, curry, and came up with this – Indian Spiced Patties.  These aren’t the size of regular burgers – these are closer to falafel-size, so they cook quickly.  Plus, it’s more fun to serve a plate stacked high with small patties, letting folks build their own plate.  I served it with a herb salad of mint, parsley and cilantro, dollops of mango chutney (for me) or lime pickle (for the mister) and Greek yogurt on the side.  Lastly, instead of burger buns, I served these little babies with chive and cumin naan.

Indian Spiced Patties

  • 1 lb ground meat (chicken, turkey or lamb – they’re all tasty!)
  • 1/2 cup cashews, bashed finely
  • 2 spring onions, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped cilantro
  • 2″ length of ginger, peeled and grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, grated
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp hot chilli powder
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten

In a medium bowl, mix the ground meat with the remaining ingredients, then cover and pop it in the fridge for at least an hour – this will let the meat firm up and the flavors mingle, so if you can leave it for a couple of hours, even better!  Form them about the size of golf balls, then press them flat – I cooked these in a large lightly oiled pan over medium-high heat – if you make them the size I described, they only need about 2 minutes on each side.  These would also be great over a grill – you’ll just have to be careful they don’t fall through!

