I admit it – when it comes to cooking vegetables, I usually fall into a steam-it-or-roast-it trap.  While I love gratins and other dishes loaded with cheese and cream and butter (who doesn’t?), let’s face it, it’s not exactly the healthiest way to enjoy your 5-a-day. 

So, now that asparagus – one of my favorite vegetables and one of the mister’s, as well – is in season, I’ve been trying to find new ways to cook it for the few weeks that it’s fresh from local farms. 

Last year, I saw a recipe for asparagus pizza that involved using a vegetable peeler to create thin ribbons of asparagus for the topping.  While I plan to try that recipe, I really wanted to partner asparagus with the lemon and tarragon chicken recipe I made on Saturday because I thought it would make a fresh, clean-tasting accompaniment.  And it was perfect!  Shaving the asparagus into thin strips means that you cook it in absolutely no time, letting it keep it’s bright green color and delicious flavor.  I finished it with a drizzle of lemon, but it would be equally lovely with a sprinkling of Parmesan.

Shaved Asparagus

  • Bunch of thick asparagus spears
  • Garlic oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Lemon

Trim the woody end of the stalk, then hold the flower-end and use a Y-shaped vegetable peeler to peel thin ribbons down the length.  Heat a large pan over medium-high heat and drizzle in the garlic oil, swirl around the pan to make sure the pan is covered with a thin film.  When the pan is hot, drop in the asparagus and toss with a little salt and pepper, continue to saute for about a minute to a minute an a half until cooked.  Drizzle with a squeeze of lemon to serve.

