Gosh, has another week gone by already?  It feels like I just wrote my last French Fridays blog just yesterday.  This spring is flying by – and I haven’t even ordered my seeds for my veg patch, yet!  YIKES!!

So, anyway, this week’s project for the French Fridays with Dorie team was to make her Beggar’s Linguini – a simple pasta dish studded with dried figs, raisins, almonds and pistachios.  I admit, when I was first reading through the recipe, I felt like Maria von Trapp … pistachios and figs and almonds … oh, and BUTTER … yep.  These are a few of my favorite things!  This dish is going to be fantastic!

And it was good.  Don’t get me wrong – I liked the dish, but boy-howdy, it was definitey sweet.  And, with all that butter, it was very rich, indeed.  I guess I thought that the Parmesan cheese was going to offer more of a savory counterpoint than it did.  I ended up adding more than the recipe called for as well as about 1/3 cup chopped parsley, which also helped tone down the dessert-quality of the dish.

But, I was left wondering – how would one serve this?  I definitely wouldn’t serve it as a main, so what kind of main would I serve that this dish, lovely as it is, would accent?  And, I admit it, I was stumped.  Pork would be too rich.  Lamb would be too sweet.  I suppose you could do some kind of super-savory roasted chicken, something with soy, maybe, to help cut through all the buttery sweetness of the pasta.

So, yes, I think the dish was lovely, but I don’t think it’ll go into the “make again” file.

