Brunch Fans of the World … LEND ME YOUR EARS!!!

Thanks to the French Fridays with Dorie experiment, I have found the savory buffet item that is ne plus ultra of breakfast breads!  And the best part?  It tastes even better the following day, so you can make it the day before, tuck it safely into a Tupperware container to let the flavors marry and work their magic overnight, then spend the morning dealing with your quiches or strata or whatever warm item you’ll have on the table.  All I can say is that, if the reaction of my coworkers is anything to go by, this cheesy loaf will disappear quickly!

I did make a teeee-niny change to the recipe – because everything is better with bacon – so I added about a cup of cubed pancetta to the mix.  I also added the pinch of cayenne Dorie suggested but wish I had added more.  Next time, I’m going to bump it up to heaped 1/4 tsp to get more of a cheese-straw bite.  But, really, those are the only changes I’d make. 

BRILLIANT, Dorie!  Well done!

