I guess this is the “Better Late Than Never” edition of French Fridays.  Last week was a complete blur and the weekend wasn’t much better.  So, yesterday, I finally had the time and energy to cook – really cook – and made Dorie’s Green Beans with Pancetta to go with a simple roasted mackerel.  Talk about the perfect accompaniment!  Yes, it was a bit of serendipity that all these planets seemed to collide – my need to cook the fish which has been taking up room in my freezer happened to play out right when this recipe came up in the rotation … but, honestly, I don’t think I could have dreamed up a better side dish.

Having said that, I made a couple of tweaks to Dorie’s recipe.  When I first read it over, all I could think was that it was crying out for shallots.  Green beans, pancetta and shallots – a threesome made in heaven!  Then, after I browned the pancetta and cooked the shallots in a little of the rendering, I decided to deglaze the pan in about 1/4 cup of white wine and cook that down before adding a tablespoon of butter to finish it all off.

So, yeah, I took a simple dish and fussed it up a bit, but MAN was it worth it in the end!

