So, it’s a gray, drizzly Sunday morning as I write this and I’m doing a little prep for tonight’s dinner.  Or, to be more precise, I’m doing a little prep for tonights dessert!  When we celebrated our first anniversary, the mister and I went to Nice for a week — while we were there, had banana splits one night that were the ne plus ultra of ice cream desserts – chocolate sauce, real chantilly cream … gorgeousness!  So, right now, I have a lovely vanilla custard cooling before it goes into the ice cream maker, some almond shortbread cookies chilling before I bake them into sweet little heart shapes and some homemade hot fudge sauce (with a dash of rum) ready to be reheated tonight. 

Why do I go all-out on dessert?  Because all my hubby wants for dinner is cheeseburgers.  It doesn’t take much to make him happy, so cheeseburgers he wants, cheeseburgers he gets (with good Angus beef and sharp English cheddar, of course).

So, happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!  I hope you have a good one!

  • Sunday:  Cheeseburgers and fries
  • Monday:  Roast chicken with cauliflower curry
  • Tuesday:  Pork stirfry with cashews and mint, bok choy
  • Wednesday:  leftovers
  • Thursday:  Vegetable and barley soup
  • Friday:  Smoked salmon with poached eggs on toast
