What a difference 30 minutes makes.  I sprinted through Victoria Station yesterday and managed to catch a train that got me home at 7:30 – I felt like I had the whole world in front of me!  Sadly, the dinner that greeted me wasn’t all I hoped it would be (chicken with leeks in a mustard sauce) – NOT a good start to my Crock Pot Week.

Tonight, while I wasn’t able to catch the earlier train, I at least had the luxury of coming home to a meal worth running for!  Sunday night, I did a little working ahead and made a big pot of mashed potatoes – enough for a couple of evenings – which has been a huge help this week. 

So, tonight’s meal is a nice twist on sausage and mash (bangers and mash here in the UK).  The black beans they’re cooked with add a nice lightly spiced stew that complements the garlicy Toulouse sausages.  By the way, for all your sausage needs, check out this site – who knew there were so many different kinds!

By the way – if you want to really make things easy on yourself, cook your vegetables the night before so all you have to do is brown the sausages and hit the GO buton on the crock pot before you run out the door in the morning.

Toulouse Sausages with Black Beans

  • olive oil
  • 1 large red onion (or 2 small), diced
  • 3 stalks celery, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 red pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 cans black beans, drained
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 cup chicken or vegetable stock
  • 6 or 8 sausages

In a large pot over medium heat, warm the olive oil then cook the onions, garlic and celery until soft, seasoning lightly.  Add the cumin, coriander, red pepper flakes and stir to combine thoroughly.  Add the black beans, pepper and stir.  Pour into the crock pot and stir in the tomatoes, stock and maple syrup.  Heat a large non-stick pan over medium-high heat and brown the sausages on all sides before adding to the crock pot.  Cook on low for 8-10 hours.  Serve over mashed potato.

warm and messy and comfort-foody

