At this time, I would like to sing a song of Smitten.  Smitten Kitchen, that is.  Deb is not only one of my favorite food bloggers, she’s also the person who inspired me to get out and create a blog of my very own.  When the mister and I decided to deal with my new longer work schedule by diving into the wild and wooly world of crock pots, I remembered her swooning over this recipe and knew that it had to be one of the our inaugural dishes!

So, since I had a little time before I needed to head into the city today, I did the prep this morning including cooking the onions and making the sauce.  If your mornings are just too crazy, I think you can do all the prep except for browning the meat the night before.  That way, all you have to do before going to work or school is quickly brown the pork (about 5 minutes), throw on the sauce, hit the “go” button and head out the door!  Yee-haw!!

(sorry, got into the whole Tex-Mex thing)

Anyway, as a good southern girl, if I have a choice between brisket or pork shoulder, I’ll take the pork every single time.  But, as Deb at Smitten has shown with the original recipe, this works equally well with beef, so pick a meat!  To serve, I heated some tortillas and made rice and cole slaw for the sides.  If it was the summer, I’d would sooooo be cooking some freshly shucked ears of corn to complete the meal.  One thing is for sure – it’s definitely spicy, so make sure you serve something cooling like slaw or some kind of yogurt sauce to put out the fire!

So, thanks, Deb, for a great meal – I hope you like what I’ve done with it!

Southwestern Pulled Pork

  • olive oil
  • 3 lb whole pork shoulder (trim as much fat as you can)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 chilli, seeded and diced
  • 1 onion, cut into thin rings
  • 4 cloves garlic, microplaned
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp chipotle paste
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cup hard cider
  • 1 can tomatoes
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 cup molasses

If your crock pot needs preheating, do what you need to do.  In the meantime, heat a good couple of glugs of olive oil in medium-sized pan over medium high heat until the oil starts to shimmer.  Season the pork on both sides, then sear and brown, about 3 – 5 minutes to get a nice color on either side.  Put the pork in the crock pot, then move on to the onions and chilli, cooking until soft.  Add the garlic mince, chili powder, coriander and cumin, stirring to combine, then add the cider vinegar and cook until nearly completely evaporated.  Add the chipotle paste and cider, stir, then pour over the pork.  Add the tomatoes, bay leaves and molasses and make sure they are mixed well.  Cook on low for 9 hours.  Lift the pork out of the liquid and shred with a fork.  Serve on rolls … or in tortillas … or on rice … s’all good eatin’!

spicy, juicy, yummilicious pulled pork

