Davy … Davy Crock Pot … king of the kitchen frontier …

Yep.  it was a crazy week here at chez Red.  I started a new project on the other side of the city, getting me home later than I was expecting.  No, that’s not really it, I got home when I thought I would but I guess I was expecting time to bend .. or slow down … or somehow accommodate me so that I could work later yet still have time to cook the kinds of mid-week meals I like to make.  And I’m not even talking about wild indulgences!  I’m just talking about a quick chop-chop of some vegetables, toss in some chicken or pork, et voila!  dinner!

Unfortunately, somehow the rosey image I had of the mister and I sitting down to eat within 30 minutes of me walking in the door was dope-slapped by the reality of getting home, having a quick cuddle with the Wondermutt, glancing at the mail, getting changed, and not even starting dinner until about 30 minutes after I crossed the threshhold.  So, one slap-dash-totally unsatisfying dinner, 1 fish-and-chip take-away and 1 really kick-butt dinner (served at 9:45) later, I’ve made an investment in our future:  a gorgeous, brushed stainless, digital, all-singing, all-dancing crock pot.

Meet Davy …

Davy joins the family with not one, not two, not even three, but FOUR cookbooks of slow-cooker recipes and suggestions (2 of which are crock-pot curry books). 

So, over the next couple of months, I’m going to be focusing my mid-week meals on either slow-cooker recipes or meals that you can make ahead of time so that all you have to do is heat and eat.  Do let me know what you think – or if you have any recommendations. 

Thanks!

Red

