Happy New Year!!  I hope you had a good time “kissing the old year out / kissing the new year in” as Bing Crosby used to sing.  We had a quiet one here, just the mister, the Wondermutt and me watching movies, then flipping over to the BBC to watch the fireworks on the Thames at midnight.  Here’s hoping we all find success and happiness in 2011!

So … resolutions … got any?  Me, I have one new food-related resolution and am continuing one old resolution.  My old resolution started three new years ago when I realized that I had a shelf full of cookbooks not to mention the magazines I bought every month but my weekly menu revolved around ten different dishes.  That’s when I decided to cook at least one new dish a week with a goal of three new dishes (and here I am three years later, writing about it and sharing it on a blog). 

This year’s new food resolution is going to be a bit of a challenge time-wise, but I really want to make it work.  I want to see if the mister and I can go an entire year without buying store-bought bread – including pita, hamburger buns and our weekly sandwich bread.  So, I’ll be sharing my experiments and recipes with you, what works, what doesn’t and how it fits with the working week.

  • Sunday:  Chicken, Leek and Mushroom Pasties
  • Monday:  Lasagna
  • Tuesday:  Cider and sage pork roast, roasted potatoes, green beans
  • Wednesday:  Chicken Tikka Masala with cauliflower
  • Thursday:  Haddock in tomato sauce, peas
  • Friday:  Garlic Chicken Pasta, broccoli
