I can barely stand to think about food right now.  My family and I had a truly English Christmas dinner last night – turkey, roast potatoes, Brussels sprouts, roasted carrots and parsnips, sausages wrapped in bacon, stuffing … I made it to the cheese course but then had to hold up my hands and say “basta!”  So, taking time to think about the menu for the coming week over my morning coffee was a bit of a challenge considering I’m still a bit full.

But, this is what I came up with – a lighter menu (with the exception of our Boxing Day dinner) that leans a little on herbs and spices to perk us up.

  • Sunday:  “Full English Breakfast” – it’s what the mister wanted for dinner, so it’s what he’s getting – eggs, bacon, toast, baked beans, black pudding, grilled tomatoes and mushrooms
  • Monday:  Paella take-away
  • Tuesday:  Lemon garlic chicken and foccacia with white bean puree
  • Wednesday:  Vietnamese pork and noodle soup
  • Thursday:  Tilapia with couscous
  • Friday:  Warm roasted Chinese chicken slaw with egg rolls (New Year’s Eve – you have to do Chinese food!)
