I know.  You’re probably thinking “Huh?  It’s Christmas!  What in the name of Kris Kringle does this have to do with Christmas food??” 

I could lie and say that I’m posting this because the marinade is a seasonal shade of green, but I won’t.  The fact is that my tastebuds suffer from a short attention span.  I can do comforting, wintery roast dinners for a day or so, but then I need some ka-POW!  I need a little ZING!  In short, I need something different.  And this dish not only fits the bill for that category, the marinade takes all of 2 minutes to make, so it’s an easy-peasy mid-week meal – throw the marinade together before you go to work, throw the chicken in the oven when you get home, et voila.   And versatile?  Serve it seared, grilled or baked … it works on tortillas or with rice and beans … accompanied by some tomato and avocado salsa or some good slaw … then enjoy the applause.

Chipotle-Cilantro Chicken

  • big handful of cilantro, including some of the stems (between 1 to 2 cups)
  • 3 or 4 Tbsp olive oil
  • heaping Tbsp chipotle paste
  • 1 clove garlic
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp whole cumin
  • drizzle water (optional – you may need it to thin the mixture)

Pour the lot of it into a blender and whiz together then marinade the chicken in a zippy bag at least 2-3 hours if not a full day.  As mentioned above, it works baked, seared or grilled – and it’s also good for fish or pork!  definitely a recipe you’ll want to keep handy! 

This little baby went on to find a home in a tortilla with some tomato and avocado salsa.

