So, we had our friends over for a “calm before the flurry of last-minute-Christmas-activity” dinner last weekend and I served Dorie’s Go-to Beef Daube.  It’s one of those fantastic dishes that is perfect for dinner parties because they go into the oven to cook a couple of hours before your guests arrive, allowing you to (gasp!) spend time with your friends!!!  I know!  what a nutty idea!

However, having made this dish once, I’m going to go a step further and say that this dish benefits from making it a day or two before your guests come over.  Cook it completely.  Throw it into the fridge.  Go about your business, then pop it back into the oven to reheat before your guests arrive. 

I offer this bit of advice because, while it was lovely on Saturday with mashed potatoes, green beans and rolls, there was no comparison to how great it tasted reheated on some thick slices of buttered sourdough bread for a mid-week dinner. 

Next time I make it, I would add a bay leaf or two to the bouquet garni and I might also add a tablespoon of tomato paste to give the sauce a little additional body.

Good for dinner ... mind-bogglingly delicious for leftovers ...

