Seeing as this week can be defined with 2 words (SNOW BOUND), deciding what I was going to make from our list of options was pretty easy – it was all about what I had on hand.  Seeing as carrots, ginger and cardamom are pretty much staples in casa del Red, it was pretty much a no-brainer.

I made the recipe as written – although, I did abbreviate the cooking time a bit (I can’t stand when carrots are too mushy-soft).  So, I cooked down the broth so that there was a lovely sheen to the carrots but they still had a little bite to them.  That said, I really liked the dish and think that it’s innocuous enough, despite its name, that most people (even kids) would like it, as well.   The ginger and cardamom gave it a touch of aromatics without being too overwhelming.  I think the next time I make it, I might go a little farther with the “spicey” part of the name and add a small chilli pepper to it, or maybe a pinch of red pepper flakes.  Or, I think you could continue with the Indian theme and maybe add a little toasted whole cumin seed to it, which would give it a bit of added depth.

Don’t get me wrong, though – I thought the dish was good and plan to make it again next time I make a roast dinner … maybe the next time I make Lazy-Man’s Chicken!

not your lunch lady's cooked carrots

