I can’t believe I almost forgot to share this with you!  So, Friday night, I finally had an opportunity to make the pork stir-fry I’ve been dying to cook for a couple of weeks, now (don’t worry – the pork was in the freezer – I didn’t leave it growing green and scary in the fridge all that time).  First time I wanted to make it, the mister didn’t get home until late.  The next time, I realized that I was out of ginger.  And chillies.  And mint.  Yeah, it was one of my better “planning ahead” moments.

So, anyway, Friday.  The time was right to knock out a yummy Friday night stir-fry with some rice so that we could veg out and start the weekend right.  As I mentioned in my Black Friday post, I’m a huge fan of Nigel Slater – this is borrowed from his Pork with Cashew and Mint (because, yes, the mister ate all the cashews so I needed to improvise).

Quick and Easy Pork Stir-Fry

  • About a pound of pork loin, cut into strips
  • Light vegetable oil
  • 3 medium-sized carrots, sliced into matchsticks
  • 4 spring onions, sliced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • knob ginger (about the size of your thumb), sliced into matchsticks
  • 1-2 chillies, seeded and sliced into matchsticks
  • juice of 3 limes
  • 2 Tbsp Nam Pla (thai fish sauce)
  • 1 tsp light brown sugar
  • 8 baby bok choy, end trimmed
  • 1/4 cup mint leaves, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, roughly chopped

As with all stir-fries, you should have everything chopped and ready to roll before you heat your wok because, once you start, it goes too quickly to prep while you cook. Along those lines, mix the lime juice, fish sauce and brown sugar and have it ready, as well.

So, with the preamble out of the way, crank the heat up to high and you’re off!  Pour a couple of tablespoons of oil into your wok and let it heat until shimmering.  Carefully, add your pork (you may need to do this in 2 or 3 batches) and brown.  Remove from the heat and add your carrots, ginger, garlic and chillies, cooking for a minute or 2 until fragrant.  Add the meat back in, turning to make sure it’s coated with all the yummy flavors.  Add the liquid and bok choy, cooking until it’s wilted, then add the herbs and serve with rice.

now, all you need is some rice and a nice, cold beer!

And, as good as it is the first night, the leftovers rock, too!

