Lately – and I don’t know why – but I’ve been in the middle of a late-fall food slump.  I wish I had a valid reason like working 18 hours a day, a new puppy or some such.  But, the fact is, we all go through it sometimes – that feeling of “can’t we just have scrambled eggs for dinner and call it a night?”

I know what it is!  I blame the Olympics – after the amazing Games followed by an inspirational Paralympics, I feel a bit of a void.  No sports to watch (professional football?? no thanks).  No inspirational stories.  No Claire Balding doing commentary.  No wonder I’m feeling a bit flat.

So, yes, I’ve been slacking in the kitchen.  Throwing things together last minute.  Not even making a menu every week.  I’ve really let standards slide and need to get back in the game.

So, what better way to get my mojo back than with an EXTREMELY easy chicken marinade!  I’ve used this with a whole chicken that’s been cut into eight pieces as well as simple chicken breasts.  You can use the leftover chicken in sandwiches or salads – it’s as good cold as it is hot out of the oven.  And I think it would be just as good with pork chops.  You don’t have to let the meat marinade all day – in fact, I’ve let it sit for as little as 15 minutes – but, needless to say, if you can throw everything together in the morning and let it marinade all day, it’ll be deeeeelicious!  I recommend using this in the oven rather than a pan or the grill – all the sugar in it will burn before the meat is cooked.

Simple Chinese Marinade

  • zest and juice of 1 orange
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp Chinese five spice powder
  • 1 Tbsp light soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1 minced chilli (seeded if you don’t want a ton of heat)

I recommend using this marinade with meat you plan to cook in the oven rather than a pan or the grill as all the sugar in it will burn before the meat is cooked.